Tags

, , , ,

So, as I may have said [eight thousand times] before, I love Louisa May Alcott. She’s got excellent style, and I just find her so darn funny… This one was right up there with Eight Cousins – a veritable tie for my favorite of hers.

As for the story itself: I dearly love Polly (and so does everyone in the story), old-fashioned as she is. I love how she gets the Shaw children to enjoy Grandma’s company instead of seeing her as old and boring. I was so glad Fanny stopped being a goose at long last and finally became sensible. Tom reminds me of Tom Sawyer (more for his actions than for his name, promise!), and Maude is a peach.

One of my favorite things: the close relationship between Polly and her brother Will: “…this brother and sister loved one another dearly, and were not ashamed to own it.” (184) It reminded me a lot of my relationship with my brother, especially when we were in high school – people used to think we were dating! We’d just laugh.

A few favorite things:

  • Evidently they called hats “beavers”?? “…Polly would have called him a boy, if he had not worn a tall beaver.” (22)
  • Mr. Shaw, when Polly had made a fun day out of a dreary one: “I guess Polly has been making sunshine for you today.” (53)
  • Sydney to Polly: “Everybody shows you their good side, I think, and that is why you find the world such a pleasant place.” (278)
    I just love this: the idea of being the kind of person who brings out the best in everyone.
  • Mr. Shaw: “Put your pride in your pockets, and remember poverty isn’t disgraceful, but dishonesty is.” (305)
    Finally, some good fatherly advice!
  • When Fan meets Polly’s group of friends: “They were girls still, full of spirits, fun, and youth; but below the light-heartedness each cherished a purpose, which seemed to ennoble her womanhood, to give her a certain power, a sustaining satisfaction, a daily stimulus…” (261)
    It’s so true; having purpose makes such a difference in humdrum daily tasks!

 

I definitely recommend this… especially as a rainy-day, curl-up-with-a-blanket sort of read. It’s just a winter-type book, though I have no justification for saying that. Just a feeling I have. Anyone else who’s read it agree with me?

